CBS Sports to broadcast Major League Cricket

The US’s new professional cricket league Major League Cricket (MLC) has signed a deal with CBS Sports to air the season this month.

MLC programming on CBS Sports Network begins today, with a 30-camera set-up for the matches at stadiums in North Texas and in North Carolina.

An all-star lineup of announcers includes cricket legends Sunil Gavaskar from India, former South Africa captain Graeme Smith, former New Zealand international Danny Morrison and former Zimbabwe international Mpumelelo Mbangwa.

Experienced announcers Natalie Germanos (South Africa) and Alan Wilkins (Wales) along with rising star Nikhil Uttamchandani (Barbados) complete the commentary team.

Six teams will compete in MLC’s inaugural season from July 13-30.

The teams comprises of the Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings and Washington Freedom.

Star players set to take part in MLC include Afghanistan T20 captain Rashid Khan, Pakistan’s Shadab Khan and Haris Rauf, South African internationals Faf du Plessis and David Miller, West Indians Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell, Australians Marcus Stoinis and Aaron Finch, England’s Jason Roy and New Zealand’s Trent Boult.

Vijay Srinivasan, co-founder, Major League Cricket said: “Major League Cricket showcases the very best players from the world’s second most popular sport playing right here in America. Billions of fans worldwide love this sport and we’re delighted to bring adrenaline-packed matches taking place this July in front of sold-out crowds in Texas and North Carolina to the wide audience CBS Sports Network reaches.”

from Digital TV Europe – For the latest news about the business of broadband and Pay TV